Gluten-free AND vegan RAMEN in Tokyo.

If you are a vegetarian or a vegan, you might have a bit of a tricky time while visiting Tokyo. Sure, there are a few all vegan restaurants and more and more places have started to offer vegetarian options- but if it's ramen you are after you don't have a lot of choices. The same is true if you're gluten intolerant (coeliac) since so many Japanese dishes contain wheat, oats, rye or barley. 

Let me introduce Sora No Iro, a brach of three restaurants in Tokyo, two of which serve vegetarian and also vegan versions of the famous Japanese noodle dish. As great as that is, what I'm even more excited about is the fact that they also serve gluten-free brown rice noodles and can make the ramen gluten-free on your request!
Vegetarian ramen packed with vegetables in a rich, carrot tasting broth. With gluten-free noodles and eggs. Vegan version also available.
So far I have only visited the Tokyo station restaurant, called Sora No Iro - Nippon, since it is so convenient if your traveling to or from the station. The Nippon branch serve a vegan ramen, a vegetarian version (including eggs) as well as some noodle soups containing meat.
Sign and menu outside Sora no Iro Nippon, at Tokyo station. Gluten-free brown rice noodles in soy sauce broth.
The restaurant is located on Ramen Street, on the B1 floor of Tokyo station near the Yaesu south exit. Just look (or ask) for Ramen Street and you will find it.


The main shop (as it is called in Japanese), Sora No Iro - Japanese Soup Noodle Free Style, can be found in Hirakawacho not too far from the Hanzomon or Kojimachi subway stations. Here you can enjoy vegetarian and vegan ramen as well as some unique chicken and seafood based noodle soups.